o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

01.03.01 - 11:40:46

the pulse of water on my skin, so hot each droplet leaves a rosy halo on my skin, otherwise opaque and winterwhite. the luxury of standing in the shower for five extra minutes and allowing the water to sluice over me, as if it were some heated storm. the smooth subtle scent of skin, and remembrance of rain. the pleasant, sleepy ache in the curve of my back.

prose like wildfire, crackling on the page.

the chica who let me in front of her at the grocery store, because i didn't have as much as her. the fact that i managed to carry on a conversation with a stranger in a strange place, without completely falling apart and scattering, like a snowball splattering on a window in a white white world. the possibility of oblivion that every winter storm carries with it, of burial - the camaraderie of surviving a blizzard.

it's been a while since i trudged through two feet of snow, and will probably be a while longer yet. tea warmth sliding down my throat and exploding into a sweet heated bloom in my belly. an endless arching stretch.

the cat, who was tricked into eating a green bean, and now wanders the living room stealing peaks outta the window and yowling about whatever he sees out there. i wonder what he sees. how do they see? does he remember yowling yesterday? when i open the door he skitters out onto the concrete steps, crawling in a slow hunter's stance informed more by fear than arrogance. he seems surprised, each time, and comes quick back to my arms, but only if i walk him down and let him smell the clean cold air.

and three kings. it's a fabulous flick.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]