o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

03.13.04 - 10:56 p.m.

Freaky. I took a BBC book quiz and got 8 out of 10 correct. This wasn't a measly, piss-ant "I'm making a quiz at Quizilla" quiz, either. It was the BBC and it was rather hard, and the two questions I missed were questions I should've gotten right. This makes me a number-crunching bookworm (since apparently accountants and then secretaries read more per week (in Britain) than anyone else.)

Woo me. Link: http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/3532609.stm

The thing that sucks about the design for my stupid page is that if I don't write a good bit, my entry gets marooned in the middle of the great vast sea of color and looks like an ill-fated, half-dead attempt at writing something. The advantage of a blog is that you can remind yourself, record your half-conscious thoughts and barely considered musings without sitting down to come up with a whole entry. So, although the form encourages one to write down almost anything one things, it conversely helps to distill out the adulterations one finds in a form like this: it reduces (OMG - I was about to type the sauce of life but managed to stop myself in time. That's what I get for my pretension. Christ A'mighty. Let's let this one go.)

I have many pet peeves. For example, I hate the way people mill around like marooned sheep at home shows or garden shows or midways or malls. It seems to me that whereever people gather for practically anything in large groups, the general pace of movement slows to about three inches an hour by some mostly hidden law of physics or people-movement or something, which says that if there are things at which one may wish to look, slowing down to a snail's pace without actually looking is somehow the moral equivalent of actually looking.

So, for example, if you paid six dollars to attend the Home and Garden Show only to find an abundence of security-system and spa-salesmen and very little in the way of gardens and way too many annoying peole, you would make sure you walked up and down every aisle to get the most out of your money, as I did. And even though you said it last year, you'll remind yourself next year: don't freakin' go. It can only get worse.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]