o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

04.05.04 - 5:33 p.m.

Two entries in one day? I must be buzzing on caffeine. Except I'm not: I didn't finish my coffee this morning, and only had one can of diet coke this afternoon. I wonder if one of the cassaroles was hinky, too, because my stomach's been a bit wobbly, all things considered. I don't like daylight savings time under most normal circumstances, but I don't entirely object to the sudden gift of evening light.

Normally I do: normally I'm cranky about all this sunlight suddenly appearing, just showing up, so damn late in the evening. Normally I'm irritated by the bright assault - it's almost six but it seems like mid-afternoon - that inevitably follows the new day's, uh, stuff. Er, that follows the beginning of daylight savings time.

But today was such a good day that I couldn't help it: my bread basket turned out perfectly, my salad was wonderful, my CDs came from both Amazon and from BN.com on the SAME DAY. Also: I got my ebay prints of the green doors. Also: I found some more homes to buy. I'm'a get one. I'll make an offer this week, I think. I'm really, really ready.

Anyway: CDs! OMG: so happy: all of them today.

Revival by Gillian Welch. I lurve her. I don't like this CD as much as The Revelator and Soul Journeys, but it's still good. I like her bluegrassy soul-y stuff, but I like it in her two most recent CDs best.

Seventh and Trade by Clare Fader and the Vaudevillains. Frenchified Southern Gothic Music. Or Southern Gothic-ified French Music. Or something in between: I really love them. They're just fun.

Tosca by Puccini, with Victor de Sabata and Maria Callas in the lead roles, a performance from the 50s thought to be one of the definitive performances of the piece and of Callas' career, and Callas was of course the greatest ever, so it's not likely to be beat-able. And I got a great deal, too, a completely remastered 2-CD version for less than $15. Sure, it didn't include the libretto, but who needs the complete libretto?

Who needs the complete f'ing libretto? I do!

Hee. Because also: Die Zauberfl�te (The Magic Flute - the one the Emperor says has too many notes in Amadeus if you've seen the movie.) by Mozart. I have a great recording of a 1964 performance, and it includes the German libretto with French and English translations and it absolutely friggin' rocks.

And finally: Dido and Aeneas by Henry Purcell. This was considered "ancient" music in Mozart's time. It's a newer recording and I haven't listened to it yet, but I've been dying to do so.

So, yay CDs.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]