o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

10.20.04 - 1:16 p.m.

1. WHAT ARE YOU WEARING NOW?

Microfiber pants (swishy!) and a pink blouse. Pink sapphire earrings and pink sapphire/moonstone ring, and a bracelet watch with multicolored crystal flowers. And my usual butterfly and hoop earrings in my left ear. And two necklaces, and socks and big black shoes (shiny!).


2. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?

I'm reading Life of Pi by Yan Martel. I'm also reading the Poems of Catullus - one or two (or three+) a night before bed. Last night: LXIII, which was all about this dude named Attis who cuts off his STUFF and therefore becomes a pseudo-chica because the Goddess Cybebe made him go mad. So, he runs around he forests and forgets life in Rome, forgets the gymnasia and so on. At some point, he recovers his senses enough to wonder - my GOD! What have I done! - and sits around lamenting his state and fate, and praying that he can go back. Except, Cybebe notices and sends her two lions to go drive him mad again, and they do. The poem ends with Catullus hoping that cybebe will leave him alone. Bizarre.


3. WHAT'S ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?

At work: SOMA - Sandler Occupational Medicine Associates, Inc.


4. FAVORITE BOARD GAME?

Trivial Pursuit, baby, with Encore a close second.

An' I'll kick yer ass. Except for the damn sports questions.


5. FAVORITE MAGAZINE?

Tch. Knights of the Dinner Table (I have a subscription) and the New Republic (also have a subscription). Somehow, I have a subscription, also, to Entertainment - or something like it - I don't know, it shows up every week. I NEVER READ IT. I wish it would go away.


6. FAVORITE SMELLS?

Awww. Weird - I like gasoline too. And laundromats, all warm and fluffy and dry. My favorite B&BW scent is lemongrass sage, but that line was discontinued long ago. In its place, I tend to favor White Tea and Ginger and Coconut lime verbena. I also love the scent of peppers and onions cooking, and the "hot" spices being sauteed. In scented candles, I prefer something subtle, and really disliked the "spiced" scents, like pumpkin spice, cinnamon, or apple spice. They give me a headache.


7. FAVORITE SOUNDS?

Rain. Rain between my house and the neck, rain wooshing outside on the porch, the wind, my cat's silly meow, the white noise of my ceiling fan and the distant rumble of thunder.


8. WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD?

When I answered this before I said grief, hands down. Now I wonder about that answer. At least grief is something real, something you can and should feel. It's oppressive and overwhelming - it feels like it will never, ever recede - but of course it's going to recede, and then you are back at the beginning again, you can begin to move on. Perhaps, then, the worst feeling in the world is that vague fugue of discontent that settles in when you're just off-kilter. E.g. - this weekend I was sick. I didn't get anything done, and I was crawly-skin-vaguely discontented, etc., distracted and unhappy until the opera finally rolled around and I was forced to brave the weather despite my illness and had a great time.


9. WHAT IS THE FIRST THINK YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE UP?

"What time is it? Another ten minutes!" However, this morning it was: oh, mah, gawd. Effing NPR fundraising.


10. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE COLOR?

Forest and/or moss green.


11. HOW MANY RINGS BEFORE YOU ANSWER THE PHONE?

Uh, that seriously varies. If I'm on the couch? One, the phone is on the table behind the couch. If I'm elsewhere, especially upstairs? Longer.


12. MOST IMPORTANT THING IN LIFE?

LAUGHS! Hee.

- engagement, in most everything you do, everyday.


13. FAVORITE FOOD?

Artichokes. Figs. Nachos. Pears. Blueberries and cream. Brussel sprouts.


14 . CHOCOLATE OR VANILLA?

STRAWBERRY!


15. DO YOU LIKE TO DRIVE FAST?

No. I don't.


16. FAVOURITE TV SHOW?

The Simpsons, the early, good years. The X-Files? I watched the middle years obsessively. Never watched the first years, didn't watch, like, the last five years either. Wonder Woman!!!!!!! However, I think, the best TV show ever? FANTASY ISLAND. What an effing great concept. Why couldn't I think of that?


17. DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL?

Noooooo. I don't! Right now, my stuffed animals are stored in my kitchen cabinets. I need to get some Woolite and wash them, but haven't done that yet.


18. STORMS - COOL OR SCARY?

Cool.


19. WHAT TYPE WAS YOUR FIRST CAR?

Heh. My first car was the Chrissymobile. It was my great aunt's car, which she used primarily to transport her huge, irritable, spoiled Irish Setter named Christian Kelly around. The entire back seat was given over to the dog, and the whole car reeked of dog. Even though Christian Kelly died when I was 12 - the same year, in fact, the same week my grandmother died - the car STILLED smelled like him five years later when my aunt died and I inherited the car. Maybe it was more like four and a half years. Anyway, it is true that Aunt Betty got another dog a few weeks after Chrissy's death, but Buster was much, much smaller than Christian and should, presumeably, have been less smelly than Christian.

I think the car was an '84 Buick. Maybe it was an '82 Buick. Whatever it was, it was a boat.

20. IF YOU COULD MEET ANYONE DEAD OR ALIVE, WHO WOULD IT BE?

God. [I hate questions like these. I'm not so much for the social interaction-small talk cycle; I'm no good at it, at all. Seriously, ask anyone. Find someone who wants to rant with me about politics, and can do so goodnaturedly, and I will lurve them forever.]


21. FAVOURITE DRINK?

Cosmopolitans!!@! By the way, the three exclamation points with an @ sign in the middle are my new super-exclamation exclamation. Otherwise, I tend to drink water or coffee, and sometimes diet coke. I like tea, too, and even like iced tea, but never remember to make it and drink it.


22. WHAT IS YOUR BIRTHDAY?

January 1, 1901. Me and the 20th century, baby. Me and the 20th century.


23. DO YOU EAT THE STEMS OF BROCCOLI?

In stir fry/cooked dishes - yes, they're really good. In salads/raw - no, absolutely not.


25. GLASS HALF EMPTY OR HALF FULL?

Overflowing or bone dry. I like the extremes.


26. LAST VIDEO YOU WATCHED?

Hellboy! - I liked it, too. The cinematography was great, even if the story was almost stultifyingly familiar, now that we have about a million versions of the loveable/cynical mutant thing. Ron Perlman was pretty damn good as Hellboy, though - he had a killer swaggering cynicism which dovetailed quite nicely with a certain simplicity.


27. DO YOU TYPE WITH YOUR FINGERS ON THE RIGHT KEYS?

Pretty much, and I don't hunt and peck, and I don't look at the keyboard. When I'm really comfortable at a desk, I type superfast. However, it takes alot for me to be really comfortable, since most desks are too high for me to comfortable sit in my chair and be able to touch the floor, I need to have a place to park my feet, etc.


28. WHAT IS UNDER YOUR BED?

Right now? A blanket and nothing else.


29. FAVORITE NUMBER?

8567392034234299999. It was a difficult decision, though, since I'm also really fond of .4445234999 and of 7.8976 x 10^-10. Those numbers are particularly rocking. Oh, and who can forget pi?


30. FAVORITE SPORT TO WATCH?

That's hard, damnit. I've found that I can watch football, hockey, soccer, gymnastics - it's all okay. The worst, though, are GOLF (my GOD), NASCAR (though I admit it has a certain, perhaps somewhat dangerous, hypnotic quality), baseball (so slooooooooooow. Okay at the ballpark though), and BASKETBALL (in the NBA. Because, uhm - hello people? Team. TEAM. T E A M). Also, I'm sorry, I know they have bikinis and boobies, but people, Beach Volleyball seriously effing bores me.


31. SAY ONE NICE THING ABOUT THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU:

I responded to this before - uh, anyway, and this time because Chuck asked me to respond. Or challenged me. Or whatever. So Chuck? Awwww. You rock! Like Cleveland!


32. NAME A PERSON YOU SENT THIS TO WHO IS MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND.

Pfft.


33. PERSON YOU SENT THIS TO LEAST LIKELY TO RESPOND.

Pfft.


34. NAME AS IT APPEARS ON YOUR BIRTH CERTIFICATE.

Hee-yell no, buddy boy. Hopefully, most people know nothing more than my first name. So, there it is.


35. FINAL MESSAGE.

One sparrow is worth a thousand gulls
when it sings.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]