o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

10.23.04 - 1:49 a.m.

Election part deux:

Local Races

Huntington

Mayor

David Felinton (Democratic incumbent) versus Gordon Ramey (Republican)

Gorden Ramey was the police chief fired in 2001 after he openly rebelled against Felinton's plans to cut the city's police force. Why did we cut the city's police force? Because the city was broke. I am sure that neither council nor the mayor wanted to cut police officers from the force, and I am certainly that it would be preferable to have more than six officers on duty at any given time (are there really only six patrol officers on duty at any given time?) and I well-remember the ... indifferent service I got when the crazy people upstairs shot a bullet into my living room the day before they killed a taxi driver. However: budget realities are budget realities. The population and tax base are shrinking, while people think we need more services. Felinton was a... cad, honestly, when he ran in 2000. He was inexperienced and he is still smarmy and annoying, but - after reading both candidates' responses to the Herald-Dispatch's questions and answers, they don't seem to have any substantive differences beyond Ramey's vendetta over his firing, and vague conviction that somehow, somewhere, the city has millions extra that could be used to fund more police officers and more road paving projects.

Leaning: Felinton.

City Council - District 6

Raymond L. Browning (Democrat) versus Cal Kent (Republican, incumbent)

I think I'm supporting Cal Kent. He has a clear understanding of the issues facing city government, is not the source of the ugliness between council and the mayor, and does not promise city residents everything their hearts desire. He seems pretty reasonable.

City Council - at Large (2 seats)

Garry D. Black, Democrat; Mark Bates, Republican; Paul Ferrell, Democrat; Jimmy Boyd, Jr., Republican

I'm not voting for Mark Bates. In the first place, he has those stupid "semi-secret fish signals" on all of his campaign signs, as if being a self-identified Christian will make him a member of the city council. In the second place, he is clearly only somewhat informed on the issues facing the city. His standard answer to almost all policy questions is a variation on "I don't know." I'm leaning toward Garry Black and Paul Ferrell. I appreciate that neither candidate attempts to obscure the city's condition or demagoge the police issue. Moreover, I especially appreciate the fact that Paul Ferrell is willing to discuss the possibility of metro government, the duplication of city and county serives, etc. We need to reform local government structures in WV to eliminate the redunducies. Finally, I am heartened by the fact that Ferrell refuses to mouth the stupid-ass platitudes about "travel and tourism" in Huntington, and instead admist that - hello people! - Huntington, West Virginia is not a travel and tourism destination and never will be.

Cabell County

Commissioner

W. Scott Bias, Democrat, versus Greg Hawkins, Republican

I just realized that I blamed Mark Bates for Greg Hawkins stupid fish-symbols. Until I realized that, this was a toss-up. No longer: I'm voting for Scott Bias.

Prosecuting Attorney

Chris Chiles, Democrat, incumbent versus Ashley Lockwood, Republican.

Damn, I'm getting tired. Whatever - I read both their Q&As. Chiles seems perfectly competent. My vote goes to Chiles.

Sheriff

C.A. Adams, Democrat, versus Kim Wolfe, Republican and incumbent

I know C.A. Adams and I think he's a bit slow. I suspect Wolfe will win re-election and that's likely appropriate. However, I'm going to vote for Adams anyway, because they have a "Christian and a Democrat" bumpersticker on their car, which I think is an important message. God does not endorse political candidates, and he certainly has not endorsed Bush.

Assessor

Ottie "The drug-sniffing dogs made me do it" Adkins

I'm not including most of the unopposed races in this accounting and analysis of local races; however, I'm tired of the whole idea that somehow because you were once upon a time X, Y, or Z you should get some permanent public electable position, and Ottie adkins as the assessor is the perfect example here. Adkins is running opposed. I'm voting for Donald Duck.

Magistrate

Oh, god. A bunch of really annoying people. I'm not voting for Alvie Qualls. He's too old, and apparently became really sick on primary night and HAS NOT BEEN SEEN SINCE. Bernie, the magistrate.

Huntington Parks - 2nd District

Anne M. Sheets, Democrat, versus James E. Cummings, Republican

Oh, mah, gawd what another stupid race. Uhm, I'm voting for Anna Sheets because she has convinced a diverse group of people to display her stupid lawn signs.


I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]