o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

04.24.02 - 1:52 p.m.

i really really need to get a handle on my tendency to mumble aggressively when disappointed by the level of, uh, customer service that most offices provide. it's not that i'm demanding (although, okay, i am demanding), but it's more that, uhm, i hate it when someone makes something simple into something complicated, i hate it when someone fails to call me back, i hate it when people add frivolous requirements on top of actual ones. like, for example, the place i called today to find out about the status of some films we subpoenaed.

they were like, could you send me an authorization? and i was like, you have a subpoena. a subpoena is a court order. you don't f'ing need an authorization because an authorization is superfluous and if you really wanna refuse to comply with a court order i'll be happy to see you hauled into court on i dunno, contempt charges or whatever we'd do but sure, i'll be happy to jump through your hoops and send you an authorization. are you going to do this every time we send you an official subpoena, or didja just get a wild hair? though really i didn't say that. actually, i just said, you really don't need an authorization but i'll fax one anyway. at least i don't hafta fax! hee. i give that to my secretary! that's like, the only real work i ever give her, but secretly (between you and me and the world) it feels VERY good to be able to delegate such tasks to someone else.

phew. i'm finally starting to feel okay. it sucks when i can't walk in the mornings, because then i'm tired all morning. grump. maybe i should do the yoga tape or an aerobic tape except aerobics would probably be much worse for the ankle than walking. except, with aerobics if i get tired or whatever i'm already home and can just sit down. in any case, it's clear that the increasing idleness is bad bad bad for me, and i need to do something.

. omg .

THIS is why i hate the world:

(Note from my reminders for today.)

Check re status of updated ___ records and ___ records.

Called Jane Doe on Wed 4/17 and she said she would call me back. Did she?

Nadda. Called back and spoke to Jane Doe II on 4/19. She said she would give Jane Doe the message and have her call me back.

No response. Called back and spoke to Jane Doe II on 4/24. Jane Doe II said she couldn't find the file, and Jane Doe might have taken it home. She said Jane Doe said she had already sent us everything. I said I need to confirm that we have everything, because it doesn't look like we do. I just want a complete copy of their written reports, and I really want to confirm that I have all the written reports b/c my file doesn't look complete. We'll be happy to pay for copies, just please have her give me a call. Jane Doe II took the message and said she would give it to Jane Doe.

i mean, i know people get busy and yadda yadda yadda, my business isn't as important as hers (though actually mine is more important, since we're their client's atty and they should be a LEETLE more accommodating of us. and anyway, they should be able to look SOMEwhere other than the written file to tell me whether i have all the written reports (hello? computer?) and also, they shouldn't take the files randomly home. i wonder what their malpractice insurance would say? then again, i guess they don't need malpractice insurance since voc rehab providers never DO anything anyway. except one or two, and even then it's vaguely useless. gah, such a good idea. such a throwaway profession, such a f'ing gravy train. even more of a gravy train than the practice of law, because we, at least, omg. argh. such a gravy train. heh.

much much later

eeek. dayum. i wrote the above hours and hours ago while i was on hold, and then went off to do more work and never came back. oh well. hee! work's over! time to go out drinking!

woohoo!

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]