o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

12.27.05 - 12:33 a.m.

My Christmas haul:

2 silk sweaters, one white, one purple. Both are mock turtlenecks, which isn�t the most flattering style on me, but both are so soft and silky that I�m willing to look less than my best.
1 � shawl thingie, with peacock feathers and roses, and beads, and a beaded border. It�s prettier than it sounds, and although I never liked the poncho craze when it was� still actually a craze, I suspect that I�ll wear this when I have a reason to wear something upscale. Maybe I�ll wear it to the opera next month � the Three Penney Opera.

1 pair black and white slipper socks with cats on the front of the ankles.

1 complete set brown sugar & fig stuff from bath and body works, in a faux mink tote.

1 very nice westlaw corkscrew.

1 cat oven mitt.

1 �hot chocolate� cake n� cup kit.

1 marcasite ring, matching earrings, and a matching (though broken, now returned) bracelet.

1 copy of Renee Fleming�s new CD, Haunted Heart.

1 copy of a barbershop cd, Realtime by Four Brothers.

War Trash by Ha Jin.

The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst.

The Sea by John Banville.

The Areas of My Expertise by John Hodgman

1 bottle color me frosted nail polish, sugar berry.

1 black pearl choker � several strands, small pearls, with matching earrings.

1 trilliant cut amethyst with sterling setting and chain, from my mom�s favorite television channel, jewelry television.

1 pair created zandrites with basic sterling post settings. The zandrites change color from pink in normal light to green in brilliant sunlight/incandescent light, as in a well-lit store.

1 �wallflower� fragrance plug-in from bath and body works, in peony, with two cinnamon stick refills. Too bad I�m not a huge fan of either scent � although I�m still using it.

1 pair green tsavorite garnet stud earrings.

1 pair mystic topaz earrings.

1 container.. brass cleaning wipes.

1 subscription to writer magazine.

1 Huntington-themed bracelet.

1 �Forgotten English� desk calendar.

1 cranberry orange spice candle.

1 watch.

1 set of cat notecards.

1 box of fair trade rain forest chocolate.

1 bag fair trade Sumatran coffee.

1 framed print.

1 visor CD holder.

3 oblong, swooping white serving dishes from crate & barrel, 2 small, 1 large.

1 blue windbreaker.

1 four CD set �easy listening� Christmas classics published by some weird Christian publishing house.

1 black Razr phone. I don�t like writing the brand name because I dislike the overly cute spelling or razor. Still, it is sharp.

4 fair trade cat ornaments, the proceeds of which went to breast cancer research.

1 pair red chenille gloves.

1 electric �fireplace� heater with fake flickering flames (returned).

Allegedly, a new kitchen floor. Or, technically, a new kitchen floor. Mom said she wanted to buy me a new kitchen floor and she would let me know how much they were willing to spend at Thanksgiving. I haven�t heard anything more about it, and I�m not interested in bringing it up again if she changed her mind, or if it was just an offer. But I would like a new kitchen floor. :)

4 stockings for the cats, filled with cat treats and cat toys.

And I have one more present to open�

1 set of make-up brushes.

I'm spoiled.

And my mom loves jewelry television and Gabriel Brothers.


I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]