o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

07.08.02 - 1:14 p.m.

(yet another email from he w/the garbage fetish! yes, apparently damon *is* the only person who emails me at sister_grim. or, at least the only person who emails me at sister_grim who isn't bitching his/her head off for some reason or another. tho, i deleted most of the nasty hate mail. ::smirks::)

Garbage has a new song out...sorta. So far it's only been performed like. It sounds like it's got a shitload of promise to it, but the only versions I could find were really crappy ones. Anyway, though, the lyrics absolutely kick ass. It's called Silence is Golden:

If I am silent
I am not real
If I speak up then
Noone will hear If I wear a mask, there's
Somewhere to hide

Silence is golden
I have been broken
Safe in my own skin
So nobody wins

If I raise my voice
Will someone get hurt?
Then I can feel it
But I can't get touched
If no truce is spoken
Don't ask me why

Silence is golden
I have been broken
Safe in my own skin
So nobody wins

Won't someone listen
I have been broken
Safe in my own skin
So nobody wins

Did you hear me speak
Do you understand
Did you hear my voice
Do you take my hand
Did you understand me

Won't someone listen?
I have been broken
My body's a temple
But nothing is simple

Won't someone listen?
Something was stolen
Silence is golden
So nobody listen

(repeat until end)

...well. Okay. Maybe they don't kick ass, but it's 3:30am and I haven't slept for like 40 hours so I'm not the best judge of that *smirk* night!

-Damon

[okay, me again. and... personal assessment? he's right. they don't kick ass. in fact? those lyrics completely suck. they're trite and boring (lyrics generally are, so why tf can't i write a song) and sound like... an illiterate 14-year-old angst puppy w/no sense of meter or anything else writing crappy poetry like this:

i cut myself
until i bleed
no one listens
to me
you
abandoned
everything we had
for that snit of a cheerleader from third period!
and you call yourself a goth!

see? i can be an angst-puppy too. well, most lyrics are like that, actually. even the ones i love. often, the ones i love. they're a thousand times better sung or screamed or, you know, whatever, than written out like this.]

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]