o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

08.22.03 - 5:15 p.m.

today was a v. good day. bagel w/cream cheese for breakfast. grilled cheese and water for lunch. dried fruit, afternoon snack. water all day. no caffeine in afternoon, but am still (surprisingly) awake and more than a little sly feeling.

[/end bridget jones]

Today actually was a damn fine day for many reasons:

1. No sun, but at least no haze. we have a cloudy, stormy morning that gave way to a less cloudy though certainly not hazy afternoon.

2. At lunch, I was caught in the thunderstorm, but it was a nice sort of thunderstorm - cool dancing winds, scattered little bits of rain, just enough to dampen your hair without drenching you.

3. My new shampoo. I picked it up several weeks ago, but only just got around to using it, and suh-weet it is. Love the scent, I'm buying it from now on. Garnier Fructis, if you must know. Except I might go back to Dove, which I also really like.

4. Possibly a corollary to my new shampoo, but I liked how my hair felt today. It seemed like it had more body than usual, and as a consequence of that combined with the less humid atmosphere, I left it down all day, instead of randomly seizing it in the terrible jaws of the hair clip thingy. Mmm. Hair!

5. Listening to Lucinda Williams. 'Nuff said.

6. SOMEone waited until the last minute to file SOMEthing that had to be filed today, and was running around like a maniac - man-i-ac - trying to get it done. Meanwhile, I stood by and serenely handed over whatever little portions of the project I was given, feeling more than a bit self-important.

Alright, not self-important, but when people are going crazy with last-minutitis trying to finish something, there's nothing better than being able to sit back and laugh at them.

7. I have my dad's car this weekend. Woo! This means, of course, that I can, uhm, haul things around. Like, if I want to buy a new bed? I can totally fit it in Dad's car, and then haul the old one off to Goodwill. If I wanted to do that, I totally could, so now I am feeling way powerful.

8. Er. Indian food tonight! Nyah!

9. Goddamnit. Uhm. Lucinda Williams is still on.

10. This morning, the local news had a typical WV story on: basically an interview with some other journalist asking why he wrote that column/article/story about WV. Last weekend during the first bits of craziness about the sniper, the local news interviewed a Telemundo presenter and asked him why it was a top story on Telemundo. Heh. We are so...

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]