o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

10.07.00 - 19:52:17

I went to breakfast/lunch (brunch?!?) with an old friend who was in town but briefly today. For whatever reason, we met at Shoney's. Once upon a time, not so very long ago, we would crawl in with bloodshot eyes when they first opened, and gorge ourselves on endless grapes and hashbrowns and french toast sticks, and all the greasy, delicious crap they have on their breakfast. Woozy and dazed from the headach-y dazzle of the evening, trailing from the dim cold shade of coming dawn to drink coffee and hunch over plates of steaming food as once, most likely, Neanderthals would hunch over the first spits of flame in a campfire.

Even stranger, I think, was that one of the other Shoney's waitresses was someone we'd gotten high with occasionally. Our lives took... different tracks. She didn't recognize us as the little professionals we've become. There wasn't even that gleam when I looked her in the eye...

...maybe because she was sober.

Nevertheless, the 'real world' of clients and attorneys and work often dazzles me, not with its complexities, but with its mundanities. There are so few people capable of expressing themselves well in print. I receive correspondence regularly from the risk manager for one of the largest employers in our region. His letters and memos are rife with the kind of malapropisms and misused words you expect from some uniformed-type impressed with his own air of officialdom.

Like a cop.

I have no idea why so many police officers spew words like they chewed up the dictionary, but never quite digested the meanings and uses of certain words.

"He was ambulating swiftful in the direction of the four-wheeled vehicular object when the suspect..."

It is all vaguely word-salad, really, and for all they seem to hope this officialese will increase the aura of their authority, it only makes me smirk.

Smirk.

I had dreams last night.

I often have dreams, but never, rarely of cops. These didn't include cops either, but there was some scurrilousness, some guilt swathing the dream I had upon awakening.

The other was merely disturbing. Those are more rare.

Dream the first (the disturbing one) involved sex. S. E. X. Yes. I can type it almost without blushing. That wasn't the disturbing part, though rarely do I have dreams quite that graphic. The disturbing part, rather, was the layered dream effect. At some point, I was aware that I was sleeping, or dreaming, or whatever, but was strangely convinced that someone else was in the room, some stranger, or someone, and it was -real- if only I could wake up to stop it maybe... but, yeah.

So that was the disturbing one.

The strange one was also a bleeding sleep-waking tangle of a dream, but only because the alarm went off when I was in the midst of it.

The second dream involved my friend Andrea, the senior partner in my law firm, and me. For some reason Andrea was going someplace - I'm not sure where - but she was being... mildly unusual. The strange part was that the partner actually asked me to go after her and make sure she behaved respectably, and didn't embarass the firm. Then he left, and I was going to go after Andrea, but I needed a shower first...

...for some reason.

Anyway, I was pleased at his trust, sufficient to leave me in charge of whatever, because it meant I could use his luxurious bathroom as a place to shower. I climbed into the shower, which had, like, all kindsa shower heads, that sprayed water from all over (...yummy!) and good smelling soaps and stuff, which set off the security system just screaming and I was sure I was caught.

...the security system, of course, was the alarm.

Strange, strange shadows, hmmm?

I survived, anyway, to write another day. Later.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]