o_O � � � � L I Z Z Y F E R � � � � O_o

Still playing cat and mouse with the universe.


Am I grumpy today?

host

current entry

past entries

email me!

notes



Great art is clear thinking about mixed feelings.

-- W.H. Auden



I believe that, as long as there is plenty, poverty is evil.

-- Robert F. Kennedy

11.07.00 - 04:51:19

out�, ba mwen son ou,e,
out�, ba mwen son ou,e,
tanbouy�, o ba mwen son ou,
sol�y l�ve.

i should talk about guilt right now, since it seems the emotion i am most familiar with. as if, yes, everything will be plucked and reformed and...

...yeah.

guilt. the thing is, it's so often justified. i do these things, without cause, really, and i end up wanting nothing more than to crawl beneath the skin of the earth. which is usually the reason that i ended up disappointing in the first place - that instinct to crawl beneath the skin of reality and hide from what i've (theoretically) done or (theoretically) might do.

except when i simply oversleep. which i should know not to do by now.

but then i wake up, full throated guilt still stuck in my maw like some offish bit of fish bone, or rather a swelling sort of balloon of emotion that has been wedged someplace between my gut and my voicebox, and i walk outside.

and the world is sharp and cold, and the stars burn me, for all their distance, burn me with some conviction that stifles thought and station and guilt and place and trouble beneath a well of conviction/recognition/joy/want that remains aching and wordless but nevertheless beautiful.

Don't fade away
My brown-eyed girl
Come walk with me
I'll fill your heart with joy
And we'll dance through our isolation
Seeking solace in the wisdom we bestow
Turning thoughts to the here and everafter
Consuming fears in our fiery halos

Say what you mean
Mean what you say
I've heard that innocence
Has led us all astray


But don't let them make you and break you
The world is filled with their broken empty dreams
Silence is their only virtue
Locked away inside their silent screams

But for now
Let us dance away
This starry night
Filled with the glow of fiery stars
And with the dawn
Our sun will rise
Bringing a symphony of bird cries

Don't bring me down now
Let me stay here for awhile
You know life's too short
Let me bathe here in your smile
I'm transcending
The fall from the garden

i adore this time of year, though the swift-falling dark leaves so many people feeling somehow chased and oppressed. For me, the combination of a long sweet evening ahead and the glitter of lights upon the streets at five-thirty, the tumbling from work into some twilight-tinged dark-hungry world womb evokes a euphoric sort of joy.

tonight twilight was all blue, all shifting blue, from the wide and clouded sky to the smooth snaking ribbon of the river to the distant marching receding line of mountains shifting to ever-receding misty-blue oblivion.

someone rather brilliant observed that the joy of poetry was that singular moment of delightful frisson, that moment of razored attention when it rearranges your sense of the world and shoves you into an alien, strange, unexpected but somehow nevertheless right-feeling persepective that seems transportive.

that's twilight. that is twilight, half-way across the river looking down some winding confluence of blued gray or grayed blues so rich and dark they seem intimate, so soft-focused they drag tears to your eyes, glittering with the lights of some ugly factory town made lovely with distance and mystery.

these are the moments when i want to be swallowed and consumed nad remade and transformed by the sheer stuff of the atmosphere when i dream i can -

- do -

- almost anything. and maybe transcend the fall from the garden.

I am not a Marxist.

-- Karl Marx


Dei remi facemmo
ali al fol volo.

-- Dante Inferno XXVI.125


Intelligent Life

Apollos
Azra'il
Cody
Migali
The Psycho
Salam Pax
Silver
Wolf


she feeds the wound within her veins;
she is eaten by a secret flame.

-- Virgil, Aeneid, IV



By your stumbling, the world is perfected.

-- Sri Aurobindo






[:about me:] [:about others:] [:recommend my diary:] [:diaryland:]